Elkin bests East Wilkes and Oak Grove in wrestling tri-match

By Perry Lloyd - For The Tribune

RONDA — On Friday evening, the Buckin’ Elks picked up two team victories in Carpenter Gymnasium. Elkin slid past East Wilkes, 36-25, in the opening match of the tri-meet and rolled over Oak Grove, 60-24, in the evening’s finale.

In the first match, five ranked wrestlers — Ryan Patterson, Jude Lloyd, Mikey Grubb, Ethan Chipman and Jerry Neese — competed for the Buckin’ Elks. The Cardinals countered with two ranked wrestlers — Austin Bauguess and Dakota Parks — of their own.

Elkin won seven of the 11 contested matches. C.J. Henderson, Tyjae Townsend, Lloyd, Neese and Zach Tilley all produced pins, while Marcus Orta and Chipman delivered decisions over their opponents.

In the 126-pound contest, unranked Jesse Aguilar of East knocked off sixth-ranked Patterson of Elkin 19-11. Both of these grapplers managed to come off of their backs on multiple occasions in this highly competitive contest.

Top-ranked Lloyd faced fifth-ranked Bauguess in the 138-pound contest. Lloyd secured the first takedown and pinned Bauguess in 1:18 in the first period of this match.

Fifth-ranked Grubb of the Elks was upset by ninth-ranked Parks 14-13 in the 145-pound bout. Grubb, who held a slim 13-11 lead at the start of the third period, surrendered a three-point near-fall to Parks in the final minute of the contest which established the one-point victory margin.

Elkin’s top-ranked Chipman bumped up to the 160-pound class to earn a 7-1 victory over Dustin Blackburn. Fifth-ranked Neese of the Elks also moved up one weight class to pin East’s Jesse Howell in the 182-pound bout in 52 seconds in the first period.

Against the Grizzlies from Oak Grove, the Elks won eight of the nine contested matches all by virtue of bonus points.

Townsend, Patterson, Orta, Brian Cruz, Grubb, Chipman, Neese and Henderson all delivered pins for the Elks against their Oak Grove opponents. Lloyd and Tilley also added to the team score total by securing victory by means of forfeit.

The Johnson Stamey Mill Town Invitational that Elkin was supposed to participate in on Saturday was postponed due to weather conditions.

Elkin 36 East Wilkes 25

106-Dustin Moore (EW) by forfeit

113-Double forfeit

120-Ty Townsend (Elk) first period pin of Dylan Vandeventer (EW) in 1:35

126-Jesse Aguilar (EW) 19 to 11 major decision over Ryan Patterson (Elk)

132-Marcus Orta (Elk) 6 to 1 decision over Chandler Luffman (EW)

138-Jude Lloyd (Elk) first period pin of Austin Bauguess (EW) in 1:18

145-Dakota Parks (EW) 14 to 13 decision over Mikey Grubb (Elk)

152-Alex Royal (EW) by forfeit

160-Ethan Chipman (Elk) 7 to 1 decision over Dustin Blackburn (EW)

170-Double forfeit

182-Jerry Neese (Elk) first period pin of Jesse Howell (EW) in 52 seconds

195-Carlos Aguilar (EW) second period pin of Cristian Parral (Elk) in 3:45

220-Zach Tilley (Elk) first period pin of Kole Money (EW) in 1:38

285-C.J. Henderson (Elk) first period pin of Caleb Combs (EW) in 30 seconds

Elkin 60 Oak Grove 24

106-Xavian Moore (OG) by forfeit

113-Tripp English (OG) by forfeit

120-Tyjae Townsend (Elk) second period pin of Tyler Yokeley (OG) in 3:10

126-Ryan Patterson (Elk) first period pin of Ryan Taylor (OG) in 18 seconds

132-Marcus Orta (Elk) second period pin of Dylan Barker (OG) in 2:28

138-Jude Lloyd (Elk) by forfeit

145-Brian Cruz (Elk) second period pin of Jason Clapp (OG) in 2:50

152-Mikey Grubb (Elk) second period pin of Mason Mabey (OG) in 2:12

160-Ethan Chipman (Elk) first period pin of David Taylor (OG) in 51 seconds

170-Jerry Neese (Elk) first period pin of Jonathan Tucker (OG) in 41 seconds

182-Michael Morris (OG) by forfeit

195-Mason Grubbs (OG) first period pin of Cristian Parral (Elk) in 1:54

220-Zach Tilley (Elk) by forfeit

285-C.J. Henderson (Elk) first period pin William Asbill (OG) in 20 seconds

By Perry Lloyd

For The Tribune