Surry County Sports Hall of Fame announces inductees

Staff Report

DOBSON — The Surry County Parks and Recreation Department and the Surry County Sports Hall of Fame Committee announced the inductees for the 2018 class of the Surry County Sports Hall of Fame and Ring of Honor.

The inductees include several local residents, James Blackburn, Sarah Parker Stroud and Willard Lee Swift. The 2018 Ring of Honor inductees also include Jim Hemric and Ann Hollar Garner.

Blackburn is a 1963 graduate of Elkin High School and is noted as winning the first-ever wrestling State Championship for the Buckin’ Elks. Stroud is another Elkin graduate who will be inducted this year, as she graduated in 1950 with an impressive basketball career.

Swift is part of the 1956 Mountain Park High School class, where he was a baseball and basketball player. From 1960-1966, he was the men’s and women’s basketball coach at East Wilkes.

Ring of Honor inductee, Hemric, graduated from Ronda High School in 1954, where he played baseball. After graduation, he was drafted by the St. Louis Cardinals. Hemric created the Elkin Blanketeers and has more than 21 years of coaching experience.

Ring of Honor inductee, Garner, started the Surry County Special Olympics in 1978 and coordinated the program for more than 20 years. Garner was elected to represent North Carolina on the Special Olympics State Board of Directors in 1989.

Other nominees from around the area include Keri Whitehead Campbell, Scott C. Hauser and Harry Monday.

Campbell is a Mount Airy graduate who succeeded in tennis with an overall singles record of 73-2. Hauser graduated from North Surry High School, where he was a standout baseball player for four years. Monday also graduated from Mount Airy, where he was an All State player for two years.

The Unveiling of the Monument Ceremony will be held Nov. 3 at 3 p.m. at Fisher River Park in Dobson. The induction ceremony will take place after the unveiling at 4 p.m. at Surry Community College in the auditorium. A reception will follow the induction ceremony.

Staff Report