UPDATE: Gwyn files for Elkin commissioner seat; No one files for Boonville mayor race

By Wendy Byerly Wood - wbyerly-wood@elkintribune.com - and Kitsey Burns Harrison - kburns@yadkinripple.com

Filing closed Friday at noon for municipal board candidacy in Surry and Yadkin counties, and on closing day, a newcomer has joined the slate of candidates running for Elkin commissioner.

On July 13, filing opened for even-year municipal elections in the region, which includes Elkin and Dobson in Surry County and Jonesville, Boonville and East Bend in Yadkin County. Filing for those seats ended at Friday.

Filing continues for seats on the Elkin City Schools Board of Education until Aug. 6 at noon.

In Elkin, three commissioners seats now held by Jeff Eidson, Cicely McCulloch and Terry Kennedy will be on the November ballot. Eidson, who was appointed to his seat following the death of Bob Norton, filed to run for office Tuesday afternoon, and McCulloch filed for reelection Thursday. William Gwyn, a newcomer, filed Friday morning. Kennedy did not file to run for reelection.

The Jonesville Town Council seats on the ballot will include those held by Andy Green and Anita Darnell, and one unexpired term which had been held by the late Judy Wolfe and will end in 2020. Also, the mayoral seat, held by Gene Pardue, is on the ballot.

David Henderson will challenge incumbent Pardue for the Jonesville mayoral seat. Creston “Chip” Mason and Courtney Michelle Henderson will face incumbents Green and Darnell for the two full-term council seats, with the top two vote-getters earning the seats. Regina Brown Adkins and Danny Lewis have filed for the unexpired term.

The mayoral seat, held by Ricky Draughn, as well as two commissioners seats in Dobson, held by Wayne Atkins and John Lawson, also are open for filing for the November general election. Draughn filed for reelection to his post July 16. Atkins and Lawson have filed for reelection as well.

The seat of East Bend mayor, held by Archie Hicks, and three commissioners seats — a two-year term held by Mae Luffman and two four-year terms held by Wanda Johnson and George Burns — will be decided in the general election.

Hicks has filed for reelection to mayor, and incumbents Johnson, Burns and Luffman filed for reelection. They are facing no opposition.

In Boonville, the mayoral seat, held by Rusty Hunter IV, and two commissioners seats, held by Gerald Brown and Bonnie Lasky, will be on the November ballot. None of the incumbents have filed for the November general election, and no one filed for the mayor’s race as of noon Friday.

Richard Wayne Cook, Larry Bonagura and Justin S. Phillips have filed for the two Boonville town board seats. Yadkin election officials said the mayoral seat will be on the ballot as a write-in slot.

A handful of candidates already have filed for the Elkin City Schools Board of Education seats which are open this year, but filing doesn’t close for those until Aug. 6 at noon.

James Freeman, who holds one of two city district seats up for grabs, has said he will not be running for reelection. The other city district seat on the ballot is held by Jane Riley.

Filing candidacy for those two seats, with the top two vote-getters being elected, are Will Ballard, Ralph Beshears Jr., Jane Riley and Matthew Shrum.

The west district seat, held by Frank Beals, also will be on the November ballot. Beals has filed to run for reelection.

Filing for the school board seats costs $5 and should be done at the county board of elections office in Dobson at its new location, 915 E. Atkins St.

The deadline to register to vote for the Nov. 6 election will be Oct. 12 at 5 p.m.

Absentee by mail will begin on Sept. 7 and the deadline to request an absentee by mail will be Oct. 30 at 5 p.m.

The deadline to return absentee by mail ballots will be Nov. 6 if returning in person and Nov. 9 if postmarked by Nov. 6.

One-Stop “Early” voting will begin on Oct. 18 though the final dates for early voting have not yet been decided. That will be reported as soon as the dates are finalized.

All precincts will be open on Election Day, Nov. 6, for voting with curbside voting available to those who cannot enter the voting enclosure.


By Wendy Byerly Wood


and Kitsey Burns Harrison