Last updated: June 01. 2013 1:24PM - 557 Views
Matthew Gorry
Sports Writer

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

ELKIN - Twelve local wrestlers were honored by the Mountain Valley Conference when the league released the annual all-conference teams earlier this month.

East Wilkes’ first-ever wrestling state champion Cody Mathis headlined the All-MVAC team as Wilkes County squads dominated the awards.

Prevette was joined by state place-winners Zack Prevette (2nd) and Zack Faircloth (4th) on the all-conference list, along with teammate Derek Woodie.

State qualifier Michael Wood highlighted Starmount’s honorees. Branch Benton earned an All-MVAC nod, while Marco Fuentes and Cody Leonard were named honorable mentions for the Rams.

Storm Long and Dylan Edwards earned all-conference mentions for Forbush after qualifying for the 2A state championships in February.

Dylan Gentry and Phoenix Collins garnering honorable mentions for the Buckin’ Elks.

The complete all-conference and honorable mention lists are below:

All Conference

Brandon Reynolds (West Wilkes)

Andrew Tedder (Ashe County)

Lucas Smoot (North Wilkes)

Juan Castro (Wilkes Central)

Ty Franklin (Alleghany)

Casey Willis (West Wilkes)

Jake St. Germain (West Wilkes)

Storm Long (Forbush)

Zack Prevette (East Wilkes)

Justin St. Germain (West Wilkes)

Dustin Huffman (West Wilkes)

Derek Woodie (East Wilkes)

Jorge Lima (West Wilkes)

Michael Elliott (Ashe County)

Cody Mathis (East Wilkes)

Dylan Adams (Wilkes Central)

Evan Adams (Wilkes Central)

Branch Benton (Starmount)

Lucas Miller (Ashe County)

Hayden Sutphin (West Wilkes)

William Miller (Ashe County)

Michael Wood (Starmount)

Zack Faircloth (East Wilkes)

Dylan Edwards (Forbush)

Taylor Nester (Alleghany)

Steve Byers (Wilkes Central)

Eithen Sheets (West Wilkes)

Kassain Tillman (Wilkes Central)

Honorable Mention

Isaac Catalan (Wilkes Central)

Phoenix Collins (Elkin)

Dennis Hernandez (Wilkes Central)

Cody Leonard (Starmount)

Marco Fuentes (Starmount)

Matthew Hamilton (Ashe County)

Parker Ward (Wilkes Central)

Drew Sturgill (West Wilkes)

Dustin Wagoner (North Wilkes)

Luke Johnson (North Wilkes)

Dylan Gentry (Elkin)

Justin Scarborough (Ashe County)

Mitchell Brown (Ashe County)

Dakota Bell (North Wilkes)

Reach Matthew Gorry at 835-1513 or mgorry@civitasmedia.com.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Elkin Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com