Last updated: June 01. 2013 12:16PM - 316 Views
Darcie Dyer
Staff Writer

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

For Surry County residents who have not voted early, some may be unsure which candidates will be on the Surry County voter’s ballot.

According to Surry County Board of Elections, this is what Surry County voters can expect to see when they get to the polls:

Presidential Contest

Barack Obama, Joe Biden - Democrat

Mitt Romney, Paul Ryan- Republican

Gary Johnson, James P. Gray - Libertarian

The ballot reminds voters that the offices of President and Vice President of the United States are not included in straight party voting. This contest most be voted separately.

Partisan Offices

US House of Representatives District 6:Tony Foriest (D), Howard Coble (R)

NC Governor: Walter H. Dalton (D) Pat McCrory (R), Barabara Howe (L)

NC Lieutenant Governor: Linda D. Coleman (D), Dan Forest (R)

NC Attorney General: Roy Cooper (D)

NC Auditor: Beth A. Wood (D), Steve Troxler (R)

NC Commissioner of Agriculture: Wayne Goodwin (D), Mike Causey (R)

NC Commissioner of Labor: John C. Brooks (D), Cherie Berry (R)

NC Secretary of State: Elaine Marshall (D), Ed Goodwin (R)

NC Superintendent of Public Instruction: June Atkinson (D), John Tedesco (R)

NC Treasurer: Janet Cowell (D), Steve Royal (R)

NC State Senate District 30: Ric Marshall (D), Don W. East (R) (deceased)

NC House of Representatives District 90: Sarah Stevens (R)

Board of County Commissioners East District: David Hunter Diamont (D), Paul M. Johnson (R)

Board of County Commissioners Mount Airy District: Jimmy Miller (R)

Board of County Commissioners Mount Airy District, unexpired term ending 2014: John K. Collins (D), Larry R. Phillips (R)

County Register of Deeds: Carolyn M. Comer (D), Todd Harris (R)

Nonpartisan offices

NC Supreme Court Associate Justice: Sam J. Ervin IV, Paul Martin Newby

NC Court of Appeals Judge: Linda McGee, David S. Robinson

NC Court of Appeals Judge: Wanda Bryant, Marty McGee

NC Court of Appeals Judge: Chris Dillon, Cressie Thigpen

NC District Court Judge District 17B: William F (Bill) Southern III

Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor: W. Bradley Boyd, Glenn Pruitt

Elkin residents only

If voting as an Elkin resident, voters will see the same ballot but it will also have Elkin City Schools Board of Education East District:Richard L. Brinegar, Haley M. Sullivan.

Reach Darcie Dyer at 835-1513 or ddyer@heartlandpublications.com.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Elkin Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com