Last updated: June 01. 2013 11:49AM - 272 Views
Matthew Gorry
Sports Writer

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

2011: Starmount 55, Elkin 6

Christian Hurt leads the Rams to their fifth-straight win in the series, garnering the game’s MVP award.

2010: Starmount 59, Elkin 0

In the most lopsided meeting since 1998, Starmount racks up 581 rushing yards en route to the dominating win.

2009: Starmount 42, Elkin 12

MVP Jake Barr scores four total touchdowns (3 rushing, 1 defensive) to lead Starmount to a surprising blow-out win.

2008: Starmount 24, Elkin 20

Rashaun Gaither gallops for 225 yards, and the Rams hold on in the end. Both teams go on to make the state semifinals.

2007: Starmount 31, Elkin 15

Scott Johnson gets his win in the series as the Rams’ head coach.

2006: Elkin 34, Starmount 10**

Months after the real Hugh Chatham Bridge gets condemned, both teams forfeit because of eligibility issues. Elkin rebounds to win its second-straight 1A state championship.

2005: Elkin 34, Starmount 14

The Elks use big plays to swipe the trophy back in the first year of the schools being in separate conferences. Elkin goes on to win the first of two-straight 1A state titles.

2004: Starmount 15, Elkin 7

The Rams capture more than the Bridge trophy with this triumph, also winning the conference championship.

2003: Elkin 38, Starmount 7

Justin Billips rushes for nearly 400 yards on Halloween night in what may have been the biggest crowd to witness the series.

2002: Starmount 20, Elkin 0

The Rams get the Battle of the Bridge trophy back after winning what some dubbed the ‘Mud Bowl.’

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Elkin Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com