Surry Community College students graduate from nursing school

Receiving pins are, from left, front row, Sarah Redding, Jessica Wyant, Nicole Purcell, Marcia Lentz, Jessi Moore, Denise Petty, Amber Brickell, Michaela Aitken, Susan Cranford, Amber Bingman, Cynthia Rich; second row, Deborah Hornaday, Jessica Bolatto, Kristin Gentry, Erica Hilton, Sarah Overby, Selest Ayers, Maegan King, Colleen Welborn, Adrian Billings, Michelle Dancy; third row, Jessica Daniels, Lauren Johnson, Lee Ann Muller, Paulina McCormick, Stephanie Morgan, Kerensa Tilley, Seless Neese, Kary Durham, Kim Boyles, Jill Parker-Neale; fourth row, Catherine Settle, Jessica Atkinson, Amy Hill, David Kiger, Kevin Wells, Marissa Cockerham, Michelle Riley, Alexa Montgomery, Wendy Wicker.

DOBSON — Forty Surry Community College students recently graduated from the Associate Degree Nursing program.

The Nursing Pinning and Graduation Ceremony was held May 14, at Temple Baptist Church in Mount Airy. Kiena Williams, nurse educator at SCC, was the guest speaker. She reflected upon situations that graduates might encounter in nursing. She also presented the pins.

SCC President Dr. David Shockley talked to the graduates about their bright futures in healthcare and congratulated them on achieving a rigorous academic achievement. Shockley also presented the diplomas. Dr. Michael B. Miller, SCC Dean of Business, Technologies & Health Sciences, performed the presentation of the graduates. Dr. Yvonne Johnson, SCC Associate Dean of Health Sciences addressed the audience with remarks on caring and compassion in nursing. Ann Scott and Betsy Duncan, nurse educators at SCC, gave the message from the graduates.

The Associate Degree Nursing graduates are: Maegan King, Alexa Montgomery, Marissa Cockerham, Amy Hill, Kerensa Tilley, and Lauren Johnson of Mount Airy; Paulina McCormick and Amber Bingman of Dobson; Michaela Aitken of Pilot Mountain; David Kiger of Pinnacle; Jessica Atkinson of Cornelius; and Jessi Moore of East Bend. Kimberly Boyles, Jessica Daniels and Colleen Welborn of King; Adrian Billings of Elkin; Lee Ann Muller and Seless Neese of Jonesville; Stephanie Morgan of Statesville; Kary Durham of North Wilkesboro; Crystal “Michelle” Riley of Hamptonville; and Kevin Wells of Mocksville.

The following graduates were already licensed as LPNs and earned the Associate Degree in Nursing: Amber Brickell and Deborah Hornaday of Mount Airy; Denise Petty and Catherine Settle of Dobson; Susan Cranford, Wendy Wicker and Jessica Wyant of Yadkinville; and Sarah Overby and Nicole Purcell of Walnut Cove; Selest Ayers of Westfield; Jessica Bolatto of Ararat; Jill Parker-Neale of Greensboro; Michelle Dancy of Millers Creek; Sarah Redding of Ronda; Kristin Gentry of State Road; Cynthia Rich of Asheboro; Erica Hilton of Thomasville; and Marcia Lentz of Roaring River.

The passing of the lamp symbolizes the nurse’s dedication to providing continuous nursing care to their patients. Just as Florence Nightingale passed her lamp on to the next shift of nurses, graduates Kim Boyles and Maegan King passed a lamp to Cody Vestal, treasurer of the freshman class.

Marshals for the graduation were chosen based on academic achievement. These individuals represented the highest nursing GPA within their class: Brittney Casstevens, Amelia Castillo, Haley Fowler, Robert Montgomery, Cristal Leyva Rivera and Elijah Wood.

The Surry nursing program graduates provide nursing care to clients at different points in a patient’s lifetime in a variety of settings. Students can choose to complete the ADN or Associate Degree in Nursing, which is a two-year program enabling students to sit for the examination leading to licensure as a registered nurse. Currently licensed practical nurses (LPNs) can also choose to complete the LPN-ADN program, which is a three semester program enabling students to sit for the examination leading to licensure as a registered nurse. For more information about the program, contact Dr. Yvonne Johnson at 336-386-3368 or

Pictures from the graduation ceremony are available on SCC’s Facebook page,

comments powered by Disqus