Surry County Hall of Fame looking for nominees

Staff Report

DOBSON — Surry County has an outstanding athletic tradition, and the Hall of Fame is looking for nominees to be honored.

There are two ways to nominate individuals, teams or organizations:

1. “Hall of Fame” nominations recognize individuals for outstanding achievements in the field of athletics as a player, coach or administrator.

2. “Ring of Honor” nominations recognize individuals, teams, corporations/companies or organizations that have made a significant impact on sports through contributions in the field of athletics.

Nominations for the 2015 class of the Surry County Sports Hall of Fame are now open and will be accepted through 5 p.m. Sept. 4. A ceremony honoring the inductees is typically held in November and their names unveiled on the Hall of Fame monument in Fisher River Park.

Nominations will be accepted at the Surry County Parks and Recreation Department, Elkin Recreation and Parks Department, Armfield Recreation and Civic Center and Reeves Community Center. Nominations also can be received on the Surry County Parks and Recreation Website at or by contacting a member of the Hall of Fame Committee.

Hall of Fame Committee members are Earl Sheppard, Eddie Wilmoth, Josh Smith, Scott Reynolds, Bob Ward, Donald Davis, Linda Davis, Adam McComb, Tony Duncan, Dave Diamont, Jim Wilmoth, Ron King, Darren Lewis, Tony Searcy and Jim Hall.

To find out more about the criteria for nominations and the Surry County Sports Hall of Fame, contact the director of Surry County Parks and Recreation, Daniel White, at 336-401-8235.

Staff Report

comments powered by Disqus