Swimming All Conference awards named

Staff Report

The Mountain Valley 1A/2A Athletic Conference released its All Conference awards on Sunday night. Elkin, East Wilkes and Starmount each had athletes on the awards list.

Elkin had a dominating performance as the team won the varsity conference championship for both the boys and the girls teams. Alex Duncan was named Player of the Year for his outstanding season, while Oz Prim was named Coach of the Year. On the girls side, Emily Rycroft was named Coach of the Year.

Below is the full list of recipients.

Men’s Swimming

Conference Champion – Elkin

Player of the Year – Alex Duncan (Elkin)

Coach of the Year – Oz Prim (Elkin)

All Conference:

Tanner Bailey (Wilkes Central)

Micah Baker (Elkin)

Cameron Barlow (West Wilkes)

Cameron Burleson (Elkin)

David Cornelius (North Wilkes)

David Cox (Alleghany)

Matthew Davis (Wilkes Central)

Michael Davis (Wilkes Central)

Parker Davis (Wilkes Central)

Alex Duncan (Elkin)

Ethan Garland (North Wilkes)

Grant Lyon ((North Wilkes)

Adam Nguyen (North Wilkes)

Jarrett Peterson (Elkin)

Charles Reese (North Wilkes)

Dave Simmons (Wilkes Central)

Dockery Sloop (Elkin)

Daniel Soos (Elkin)

Josh Spillman (Starmount)

Justin Williams (Alleghany)

Coy Yarboro (Elkin)

Women’s Swimming

Conference Champion – Elkin

Player of the Year – Sarah Olson (Wilkes Central)

Coach of the Year – Emily Rycroft (Elkin)

All Conference:

Haley Barker (North Wilkes)

Lauren Blevins (Wilkes Central)

Alyson Bumgarner (Wilkes Central)

Brooke Collins (Elkin)

Kandice Darnell (East Wilkes)

Annie Douglas (Elkin)

Eulalia Gaspar-Manuel (Wilkes Central)

Kaitlyn Handy (West Wilkes)

Noelle Handy (West Wilkes)

Kenzie Holbrook (Wilkes Central)

Harper Lee Libbert (Elkin)

Anslee Nichols (West Wilkes)

Sarah Olson (Wilkes Central)

Mia Schweikert (Elkin)

Katie Sidden (Elkin)

Kaylee Simmons (Wilkes Central)

Morgan Smithey (West Wilkes)

Bianka Soos (Elkin)

Hunter Tharpe (East Wilkes)

Staff Report

comments powered by Disqus