2016 MVAC baseball and softball all-conferences named

By Kristian Russell - krussell@civitasmedia.com

The Mountain Valley Athletic Conference released its baseball and softball 2016 conference awards on Saturday afternoon.

Starmount’s head coach was voted 2016 Baseball Coach of the Year, while Starmount’s Patrick Usher was named the 2016 Player of the Year. Starmount also had several player make all-conference — Curtis Craft, Houston Nicks, Henry Stone, and Patrick Usher.

MVAC all-conference from Elkin includes Will Altemueller and Eli Brown, and Alec Anderson and Bryce Vestal from East Wilkes.

Several local conference players also made honorable mention — Trey Blevins and Zachary Lovette from East Wilkes, Tanner Edwards and Mattieu Martir-Tullock from Elkin, Dalton Oliver and Andrew Smythers from Starmount.

Other all-conference players include John Hamby (West Wilkes), Houston Koon (Wilkes Central), Joseph Lowder (Ashe), Matt McMillian (Alleghany), Alex Ortiz (West Wilkes), Lance Parker (Wilkes Central), Brett Pope (Alleghany), Daniel Pruitt (North Wilkes), Grant Strader (Wilkes Central), Tanner Waddell (Wilkes Central), Trent Walsh (West Wilkes) and Hogan Windish (Ashe).

Honorable mention includes Logan Petty (West Wilkes), Jake Boyles (West Wilkes), Andrew Pruitt (North Wilkes), Colby Greene (North Wilkes), Jordan Pruitt (Alleghany), Kendall Richardson (Ashe), Bradley Richie (Ashe), Lucas Rife (Alleghany), Donte Scales (Wilkes Central), and Evan Adams (Wilkes Central).

On the softball side of things for the MVAC, the Player of the Year was Caitlyn Shepherd of West Wilkes and Coach of the Year was Michael Woodruff of West Wilkes.

All-conference players included players from East Wilkes, Elkin, and Starmount — Kirstan Beaver (Elkin), Ashley Johnson (Starmount), Olivia Bullard (East Wilkes), Nicole Collins (Elkin), Caitlyn Macemore (East Wilkes), Reagan Parks (Elkin), and Lauren Rakes (East Wilkes).

Other All-Conference players include Lillie Anderson (West Wilkes), Madison Huffman (West Wilkes), Tristan Johnson (Wilkes Central), Lora Jones (Ashe), Kailey McNeil (Wilkes Central), Haylee Moore (West Wilkes), Allison Parker (Wilkes Central), Emily Phillips (North Wilkes), Caitlyn Shepherd (West Wilkes), Jade Shepherd (Alleghany), McKenzie Wood (North Wilkes), Emily Visnic (West Wilkes), Katelyn Wyatt (Wilkes Central).

Honorable mention players from East Wilkes, Elkin, and Starmount include Brie Jarvis (East Wilkes), Taylor Tharpe (East Wilkes), Bayle Wood (Elkin), Kendra King (Starmount), Aspen Shaw (Elkin), and Lakin Shores (Starmount). Other Honorable mentions include Kaylin Blankenship (North Wilkes), Raygan Casstevens (North Wilkes), Gracey Curtis (West Wilkes), Jordan Ellis (Wilkes Central), Gaibrella Gilbert (West Wilkes), Paige Hamm (Alleghany), Sarah Houck (Ashe), Sydney Jones (Alleghany), Kacee Johnson (Wilkes Central), and Chloe Sullivan (Ashe).

By Kristian Russell


comments powered by Disqus