Elkin driver nabs Open Wheel feature

Last updated: August 01. 2014 1:01AM - 289 Views
By Jim Fuller jfuller@civitasmedia.com

Ronda's Bryan Nance captured the Limited Sportsman feature at Friendship Motor Speedway Saturday night.
Ronda's Bryan Nance captured the Limited Sportsman feature at Friendship Motor Speedway Saturday night.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Ronda’s Bryan Nance captured his third Limited Sportsman feature of the season, leading from green to checkered Saturday night at Friendship Motor Speedway.

Steve Faw, George Anen, Randy Powell, Jody Miller, Chase McCormick and Kenneth Miller also picked up wins Saturday night.

Nance’s win came on a dry and dusty night at Friendship. “Everything held together,” Nance said. “The track was pretty good. I’ve seen a lot worse.

“The main thing about a dirt track — be prepared to make changes. You have to be ready from week to week.”

Nance, 43 and in his 28th year of racing, has had a lot of success in the division this season — taking two seconds to go with his three wins. He entered Saturday night in third in the points standings.

Faw, of Millers Creek, came into the night three points behind Chad Call in the Super Stock points standings. Call finished second.

Anen, of Elkin, claimed his second Open Wheel Modified feature — continuing a run of finishing either first or second in six of the last seven race nights.

Powell’s win came in the Super Stock 4 class; Jody Miller’s in the Renegades class; and Kenneth Miller’s in the UCars class.

McCormick, of Dobson, won for the fourth time this season in the SeCA Crates and the first time since May 10. He had finished second twice and third twice since picking up the last win.

The win tightens the SeCA points standings. McCormick trailed Hamptonville’s Chris Cheek by 37 points going into Saturday night’s race.l Cheek finished second.

Racing continues Saturday night. Gates and the pit area open at 3:30.

Results — Limited Sportsman: 1. Bryan Nance; 2. Matt Johnson; 3. Kevin Gwyn. Super Stock 4: 1. Steve Faw, Millers Creek; 2. Chad Call; 3. Billy Robbins. Open Wheel Modifieds: 1. George Anen; 2. Richard Clew; 3. Ron Lawson. Xtreme Stock 4: 1. Randy Powell, Lincolnton; 2. Larry Martin; 3. Tim Wyatt. Renegades: 1. Jody Miller, Moravian Falls; 2. John Reed; 3. Benny Sprinkle. SECA Crate Late Model: 1. Chase McCormick, Dobson; 2. Chris Cheek; 3. Kelly Fegter. UCars: 1. Kenneth Miller, Wilkesboro; 2. Stephanie Clew Caudle; 3. Scotty Easter.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Elkin Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com