$78,000 awarded in scholarships by WEF

Staff Report

WILKESBORO — The Wilkes Education Foundation (WEF) board approved $78,000 in scholarships to be awarded for the 2016-17 year. Scholarships include the Della Arnold Scholarships awarded to Wilkes, Iredell and Yadkin county students pursuing religious education; G. Gerald Hendley Family Scholarships awarded to individuals in Wilkes County pursuing careers in the medical fields; and Wilkes Education Foundation (WEF) Scholarships awarded to Wilkes County students based upon scholastic achievement, personal essay, community service and financial need.

Della Arnold Scholarships of $500 each were awarded to Caitlin Shepherd, West Wilkes High School, and Katie Roberts, Starmount High School.

G. Gerald Hendley Family Scholarships were awarded to Shauna Saunders ($25,000), North Wilkes High School; McKayla Bumgarner ($10,000), West Wilkes High School; Brooke Schubert ($5,000), East Wilkes High School; Laura Phillips ($5,000), North Wilkes High School; and Allison Livengood ($5,000), North Wilkes High School.

Wilkes Education Foundation Scholarships were awarded to Brooke Church ($10,000), Wilkes Early College High School; and $1,000 each to Brooke Bentley, Wilkes Central High School; Lydia Burcham, East Wilkes High School; Laura Phillips, North Wilkes High School; Kayla Mounce, East Wilkes High School; Kaitlyn Sullivan, Wilkes Central High School; Alexandria Dillard, North Wilkes High School; Allison Livengood, North Wilkes High School; Shauna Saunders, North Wilkes High School; Cameron Tribble, North Wilkes High School; and Conner Sprinkle, West Wilkes High School.

Additionally, $7,000 was awarded to Wilkes Community College to assist Wilkes County School graduates with priority consideration given to those who have participated in the Career & College Promise program and/or earned a platinum, gold or silver-level Career Readiness Certificate.

WEF officers and committee chairs comprise: Lee Bentley, president; Arnold Lakey, vice president; Carolyn Triplett, secretary; Jody Hamby, treasurer; Bill Myers, assistant treasurer; David McNeill, fundraising/Hugh Martin Memorial Golf Tournament chair; Danny Holman, Mini-Grants Chair; Marcia Reynolds, nominations and WEF Scholarships, G. Gerald Hendley Family Scholarships and Della Arnold Scholarships chair; and Gordon Burns, public awareness chair.

Funding for grants and scholarships is obtained from individual and corporate contributions, the annual Hugh Martin Memorial Golf Tournament and endowment income.

The Wilkes Education Foundation is a private, non-profit, IRS 501(c)(3) tax-exempt endowment corporation dedicated to promoting excellence in education in the Wilkes County Schools. For information about contributing to the WEF, contact Jody Hamby, 309 9th St., North Wilkesboro, NC 28659, or call 336-667-1121. For more information, see www.wilkeseducationfoundation.org.

Staff Report

comments powered by Disqus