Shore files for school board seat

Filing period closes Monday at noon

By Wendy Byerly Wood -

DOBSON — A second Elkin resident has joined an incumbent in the race for the city district seat on the Elkin Board of Education, with filing remaining open until noon on Monday.

The Surry County Board of Elections reported Wednesday afternoon that Jason “Levi” Shore, 36, filed his candidacy to run for the city district seat, which is now held by Dr. Richard Brinegar, who is running for re-election. The city district includes precincts Elkin 1, Elkin 2 and part of Elkin 3.

A second seat on the board of education also will be on the November ballot, with east district incumbent Haley Sullivan, who is running for re-election, getting an opponent in newcomer Judy Walker, who filed July 27. The east district includes precinct Elkin 3 outside the city limits east of I-77.

Brinegar serves the school board as chairman, while Sullivan is vice chair.

In other local November elections, Elkin mayoral candidate Sam Bishop is running unopposed, with Mayor Lestine Hutchens not seeking re-election.

Four candidates will be on the ballot vying for two at-large seats on the Elkin Board of Commissioners — incumbent Dr. Skip Whitman, Jeff Eidson, Tommy Wheeler and John Worth Wiles.

The Mount Airy Board of Education filing period closes Friday at noon, with only the incumbents for those four seats on November’s ballot filing as of end of day Wednesday. Incumbents are Phillip Thacker, Michael Marion, Kate Appler and Wendy Carriker.

In Dobson, three incumbents are running for three seats on the town board of commissioners — Robin Testerman, Vonda Comer and Todd Dockery.

Four people, one being an incumbent, are vying for two commissioners seats on the Pilot Mountain Board of Commissioners — incumbent Kim Quinn, Evan Cockerham, Mary Nunn Meijboom and Franklin Nichols.

In countywide races, the ballot will include the East District county commissioner race with Democrat Ronald Bowman facing Republican Van Tucker, who was appointed to fill the seat vacated by former commissioner Paul Johnson after he pleaded guilty to misappropriating county funds. Also, Republican Larry Johnson will run unopposed for the Mount Airy District commissioner seat; Carolyn Comer will run for re-election as register of deeds unopposed; and Glenn Pruitt, an incumbent, will run unopposed for Soil & Water Conservation supervisor.

Local state races will include House Representative Sarah Stevens, a Republican, running against Democrat Very Smith Reynolds for the 90th District, which includes Surry and part of Wilkes County. Both are from Mount Airy.

For Senate 30th District, incumbent Republican Shirley Randleman of Wilkesboro will face Democrat Michael Holleman of Wilkesboro. The 30th District includes Stokes, Surry and Wilkes counties.

Wendy Byerly Wood may be reached at 336-258-4035 or on Twitter @wendywoodeditor.

Filing period closes Monday at noon

By Wendy Byerly Wood

comments powered by Disqus