City schools incumbent facing opposition

By Wendy Byerly Wood -

DOBSON — One of the Elkin Board of Education members will face opposition in the November election, following the filing of a newcomer Wednesday. The filing period for the Elkin school board is open until noon on Aug. 8.

Judy Walker, 72, of Elkin, has filed to run for the East District seat, which includes Elkin 3 precinct outside the city limits east of I-77. The seat is now held by Haley Sullivan, who filed her intent to run for re-election some time ago.

Also on the ballot in November is a City District seat, which is now held by Dr. Richard Brinegar. Brinegar also filed for re-election. The City District seat includes precincts Elkin 1, Elkin 2 and part of Elkin 3, which are in the city limits.

The filing period for the Elkin Board of Education opened on Dec. 1, 2015, and has remained open since, set to close Aug. 8.

Cost to file for the seat is $5.

Other Elkin seats to be on the November ballot include the Elkin mayoral post and two Elkin Board of Commissioners seats. Filing for those seats ended July 15.

Mayoral candidate Sam Bishop will face no opposition on the ballot, while four candidates emerged for the two commissioners roles — incumbent Dr. Skip Whitman, Jeff Eidson, John Worth Wiles and Tommy Wheeler.

The only other seats with a filing period still open are four posts on the Mount Airy Board of Education. That filing period closes Aug. 5 at noon, with just the incumbents filing for those at this point — Wendy Carriker, Kate Appler, Michael Marion and Phillip Thacker.

Filing for school board seats is handled at the Surry County Board of Elections office at 201 E. Kapp St., Dobson.

Wendy Byerly Wood may be reached at 336-258-4035 or on Twitter @wendywoodeditor.

By Wendy Byerly Wood

comments powered by Disqus