Wiles adds name as candidate for Elkin commissioner

Filing period for town seats to close Friday

By Wendy Byerly Wood - wbyerly-wood@civitasmedia.com

DOBSON — With two seats up for grabs on the Elkin Board of Commissioners as well as the mayoral post, three candidates have now put their hat in the ring for the three roles as of Tuesday afternoon. Deadline to file for intent to run on the November ballot ends Friday at noon.

John Worth Wiles, 36, chairman of the Surry County Democratic Party, filed his intent to run after lunchtime Tuesday for one of the two at-large nonpartisan commissioners seats in Elkin.

The two commissioners seats are now held by J.L. Lowe and Dr. Skip Whitman, but neither incumbent has filed to run, with newcomer, retired Elkin Fire Chief Tommy Wheeler, as the second candidate so far for the two seats.

Sam Bishop filed for candidacy for the seat of mayor of Elkin on the first day the filing period opened, July 1, and remains unopposed with just two days left to file. Mayor Lestine Hutchens announced earlier in the year she did not intend to run for re-election.

The cost to file for candidacy is $5, and filing should be done at the Surry County Board of Elections office in Dobson.

Several other municipal and school board seats will appear on the November ballot, including the Elkin City Schools Board of Education. Two positions are open on that board, one for the city district and one for the east district. Both incumbents, Dr. Richard Brinegar and Haley Sullivan, have filed for candidacy. The filing period for the school board ends Aug. 8 at noon.

In other races around Surry County, several candidates have filed.

For four Mount Airy Board of Education seats on the ballot, incumbents Phillip Thacker, Michael Marion, Kate Appler and Wendy Carriker have filed to run for re-election.

For three seats on the Dobson Board of Commissioners, incumbents Vonda Comer, Todd Dockery and Robin Testerman have filed for re-election.

For two seats on the Pilot Mountain Board of Commissioners, incumbent Kim Quinn and newcomer Evan Cockerham have filed to run. Commissioner Cordie Armstrong has not filed to run as of yet.

Wendy Byerly Wood may be reached at 336-258-4035 or on Twitter @wendywoodeditor.

Filing period for town seats to close Friday

By Wendy Byerly Wood


comments powered by Disqus