Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society inducts 23 new members

By Wendy Byerly Wood

March 15, 2014

DOBSON — The Alpha Xi Tau Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at Surry Community College recently held its annual induction ceremony for new members for fall 2013/spring 2014 in the Grand Hall of the Shelton-Badgett North Carolina Center for Viticulture & Enology.

The chapter inducted 23 new members, and the keynote speaker, chosen by the chapter, was Tony Searcy, SCC director of Campus Life and Student Support. SCC President Dr. David Shockley assisted Chapter President Carrie Parker in welcoming everyone, and inductee Corinna McKeithan performed a musical solo, singing “Win” by Brian McKnight. Readers included new inductee Jennifer Coe and 2013 inductee Stephanie Repnyek.

The fall 2013/spring 2014 PTK inductees included: Tina Barber of East Bend; Hannah Barker of Ronda; Judy Caudill of McGrady; Jennifer Coe, Justin Freeman and Alexis Money of Dobson; Courtney Crews of Henderson; Marshal Eddleman of Boonville; Deavyn Edwards, Corinna McKeithan, Shelby Pendleton and Kimberly Stanley of Mount Airy; Haley Genet of Rural Hall; Kala Hanes of Yadkinville; William Jessup of Tobaccoville; Patrick Jones and Samantha Wiley of King; Americo Minotti of State Road; Jessie Mosley and Donna Sutphin of Pilot Mountain; Cristal Rivera of Elkin; Hunter Smith of Siloam; and Emily Wilkins of Lowgap.

The Alpha Xi Tau chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society will travel to Orlando, Fla., for the PTK Annual Convention on April 24-26. Previously, the chapter attended annual conventions in Nashville, Tenn., and San Jose, Calif.

For the second year in a row, the chapter has achieved Five-Star Status, the highest level of participation and recognition offered by the honor society. The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, PTK provides opportunities for the development of leadership and service; an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals; lively fellowship for scholars; and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence. To be eligible for membership, a student must have completed at least 15 hours of associate degree course work with a cumulative 3.5 GPA.

PTK does campus service projects and participates in a college-wide service project each year such as the curriculum graduation ceremony. PTK members also do research on a thematic unit and then present it to the college as a part of its annual activities. Last year, the group sponsored a political forum, and this year the presentation was entitled “Beauty and the Burger,” which focused on how society’s perception of beauty affects food choices.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 130,000 students inducted annually.

For more information about Phi Theta Kappa, contact PTK’s Faculty Advisor Kennette Thomas at 386-3283 or thomask@surry.edu or go to www.ptk.org.