School board members to be recognized in January

By Tanya Chilton tchilton@civitasmedia.com

January 25, 2014

Elkin City Schools will hold its January meeting on Monday at 6 p.m. and will recognize school board members and their contributions during National School Board Recognition Month.

Elkin City Schools Board Members include Foley Norman, chairman; Dr. Richard Brinegar, vice chairman; James Freeman, Stewart Roten and Haley Sullivan.

A consent session will begin at 5 p.m. John Altemueller will speak on Fire Alarm Inspections and Panic Button Grants.

Some items listed on the official agenda will be arts recognition by Elkin City Schools School Superintendent Dr. Randy Bledsoe of the Christmas card winners from Elkin elementary, middle and high schools. In the board spotlight segment, Pam Colber will recognize Susan Bennett, eighth-grade science teacher at Elkin Middle School.

Motion required areas will be on the topics of the Education and Workforce Innovation Grant, North Carolina New Schools, NCSBA Voucher Litigation Resolution, North Carolina City Schools Consortium Agreement and budget amendments

Elkin City Schools office is at 202 W. Spring St. in Elkin. For more information, call 835-3135.

Reach Tanya Chilton at 835-1513 or on Twitter @TanyaTDC.