Elks, Cardinals headline cross country awards

Matthew Gorry Sports Writer

November 27, 2013

ELKIN — Mountain Valley Conference champion Elkin and rival East Wilkes headlined the boys’ all-conference lists, the league announced earlier this month.

The Buckin’ Elks placed their top-five runners on the first team to garner honors: Brandon Welborn, Jacob Parker, Jonah Christian, Blake Poplin and Said Javier. Eli Brown and Jeremy Pierce earned an honorable mention.

Elkin Head Coach Dan Merritt earned Coach of the Year honors.

Runner of the Year Will Jolly highlighted East Wilkes’ nominees. Kyle Rhodes also earned an All-MVAC nod for the Cardinals.

The complete all-conference and honorable mentions list is below:

Champion — Elkin

Runner of the Year — Will Jolly (East Wilkes)

Coach of the Year — Dan Merritt (Elkin)


Daniel Angarita (West Wilkes)

Garrett Berry (Ashe County)

Jonah Christian (Elkin)

Tyler Dishmon (North Wilkes)

Josh Hall (West Wilkes)

Rylan Hincher (North Wilkes)

Said Javier (Elkin)

Will Jolly (East Wilkes)

Austin Motsinger (Wilkes Central)

Jacob Parker (Elkin)

Blake Poplin (Elkin)

Kyle Rhodes (East Wilkes)

Daniel Serrano (Alleghany)

Andrew Tedder (Ashe County)

Brandon Welborn (Elkin)

Honorable Mention

Ryan Barrett (Wilkes Central)

Eli Brown (Elkin)

RJ Burke (Ashe County)

Jeremy Pierce (Elkin)

Devon Redman (Wilkes Central)

Reach Matthew Gorry at 835-1513 or mgorry@civitasmedia.com.