Elkin’s Ward named Runner of the Year

Matthew Gorry Sports Writer

November 27, 2013

Six area runners were recognized by the Mountain Valley Conference after the season, the league announced earlier this month.

Elkin’s Shakai Ward raced to the Girl Runner of the Year Award to headline the honors. Ward was joined on the all-conference team by Madeline Carter, while Courtney Beals earned an honorable mention.

McKenzie Stokes and Taylor Tharpe earned All-MVAC nods for East Wilkes with Melia Huggins garnering an honorable mention.

The complete all-conference and honorable mention list is below:

Champion – Ashe County

Runner of the Year – Shakai Ward (Elkin)

Coach of the Year – Shane Greene (Ashe County)


Ayla Albert (West Wilkes)

Alexes Armstrong (Ashe County)

Brooke Bentley (Wilkes Central)

Madeline Carter (Elkin)

Kalyn Chapman (Ashe County)

Mac Church (Ashe County)

Tyler Eller (Ashe County)

Makayla Estep (Wilkes Central)

Jordyn Halvorson (Wilkes Central)

Madelyn Hamby (West Wilkes)

Margot Mattix (Ashe County)

Jennifer Rhodes (North Wilkes)

McKenzie Stokes (East Wilkes)

Taylor Tharpe (East Wilkes)

Shakai Ward (Elkin)

Honorable Mention

Courtney Beals (Elkin)

Melia Higgins (East Wilkes)

Alicia Holbrook (North Wilkes)

Victoria Royal (North Wilkes)

Lauryn Turner (North Wilkes)

Reach Matthew Gorry at 835-1513 or mgorry@civitasmedia.com.