Awards on agenda for Surry Schools board meeting

Staff Report

September 2, 2013

The Surry County school system has won a Zone Health Award from the North Carolina Prevention Partners, given to school systems which reach a set standard in student wellness and obesity prevention.

Surry County is the only school system to win the award in North Carolina, according to the superintendent’s office, and each school that received an award will receive $1,000. More information is scheduled to be shared regarding the awards at Tuesday’s county board of education meeting, set for 5 p.m. at the school office in Dobson.

The board is also set to receive word about the American Heart Association Award being given to a local school as well. The recipient of this honor will be recognized as an American Heart Association Gold level, Fit Friendly Worksite.

Teacher Quality Coordinator and Public Information Officer Sonia Dickerson indicated that in the past, only companies were eligible for this distinction and this is the first year schools have been eligible to apply. The effort was established to recognize worksites nationally as employers who go “above and beyond” in reguards to employee health.

A presentation about a new school safety application by Geranate Design+Mobile which would allow students, parents and staff to use cell phones to report safety incidents is also scheduled.

According to the agenda, another item of business will be the announcement of an award for excellence in financial management from the state board of education. Other action could include discussion of a YVEDDI contract agreement and a charter bus consulting contract as well as a memorandum of agreement between Surry Community and the school system regarding the Surry Early College School of Design.

The board could also consider setting a date and time for an auction sale at the maintenance warehouse of surplus school property as well as a request from the North Carolina Department of Transportation to obtain 50 surplus student lockers for use at the NCDOT Yadkin County Maintenance Office.

The agenda also lists time for reports from the Board Chairman Earlie Coe and School Superintendent Dr. Travis Reeves.