Elkin High welcomes new National Honor Society members

Taylor PardueStaff Reporter

April 27, 2013

Elkin High’s exiting National Honor Society members welcomed the entering members for 2014 on April 25 in a reverent and at times humorous induction ceremony.

The officers and members of the 2012-2013 NHS gave the newcomers for 2013-2014 a warm welcome in a ceremony marked by solemn and proud tradition. Guests and members held applause to the end of the induction, allowing students to hear their names echo across Dixon Aduitorium.

Following an introduction by Sam Lane, President Elise Corregan began the ceremony by lighting the main candle, from which the other officers lit their respective candles.The main candle is known as the candle of Knowledge and Truth.

Subsequent candles represented scholarship, leadership, service, character and citizenship. NHS members Coley McCulloch, Alix Hall, Ashton Gant, Logan Newman and Sam Lane lit them one by one.

Corregan then inducted the new officers for the upcoming school year.

2013 inductees include Aylin Aguilar Aguilar, William Allen IV, Courtney Beals, Noah Carter, Erin Cave, Jacob Christian, Kaley Cornelison, Sarah Cudd, Nicole DeFreitas, Ariana Fiets, Erick Fuentes, Mary-Frances Hall, Ellie Hooper, Kristen Kartes, Ciara LeMay, Piper Lewis, Emi Loving, Ava McRitchie, Marena Nelson, Payton Nicholson, Megan Peters, Jake Pickett, John Pillsbury, Rebecca Ray, Shaun-Tai Sales, Drew Shinkle, Cayley Shoemaker, Bethany Turner, Shannon Tweddell and Olivia West.

The National Honor Society is an organization dating back to 1921. The honor society is the premier showcase for exceptional high school students. While honor roll grades are important, the qualities represented by the candles also need to be shown to qualify a student.

To contact Taylor Pardue call 336-835-1513 ext. 15, or email him at tpardue@civitasmedia.com.