Area teams dominate All-MVAC tennis squad

Matthew GorrySports Writer

November 14, 2012

RONDA - Mountain Valley Conference tennis champion East Wilkes raked in the honors when the conference announced its annual awards this week.

Singles champion Kelly Johnson was named the MVAC Player of the Year, while head coach Aaron Simmons earned the Coach of the Year nod after guiding the Lady Cardinals to a perfect conference crown.

Johnson headlined a group of six Cards on the all-conference list. Hannah Brown, Molly Callaway, Christy Carter, Marigail Mahaffey and ShaNisha White joined Johnson on the first-team as East’s top six players earned honors.

Elkin and Starmount added three honorees apiece on the all-conference team.

Singles silver medalist Payton Nicholson highlight Elkin’s nominees, with Allie Gentry and Julie Neumark earned all-conference honors.

State qualifiers and doubles silver medalists Ashley Griffin and Heaven Walters were named to the all-conference team from Starmount, joined by Miracle Walters.

The complete all-conference and honorable mention lists are below:


Molly Andrews (Alleghany)

Hannah Brown (East Wilkes)

Hallie Brown (Ashe County)

Molly Callaway (East Wilkes)

Christy Carter (East Wilkes)

Emily Faw (Wilkes Central)

Lydia Garcia (Alleghany)

Allie Gentry (Elkin)

Ashley Griffin (Starmount)

Mary Hollis (Wilkes Central)

Kelly Johnson (East Wilkes)

Frankie McKinney (Wilkes Central)

Marigail Mahaffey (East Wilkes)

Haley Maloney (Ashe County)

Julie Neumark (Elkin)

Payton Nicholson (Elkin)

Haley Spurlin (Alleghany)

Lindsay Van Noy (Wilkes Central)

Heaven Walters (Starmount)

Miracle Walters (Starmount)

ShaNisha White (East Wilkes)

DeAnna Wilkins (Forbush)

Maggie Witherspoon (Ashe County)

Anna Wooten (Ashe County)

Honorable Mention

Zoe Aguayo (Wilkes Central)

Lauren Hardison (Forbush)

Madison Hayes (Wilkes Central)

MaKayla Pendergrass (Forbush)

Hayley Ragland (Ashe County)

Mary-Austin Tugman (Ashe County)