Last updated: June 01. 2013 5:28AM - 643 Views
Staff Report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Surry Community College proudly announces 231 GED graduates for the 2010-11 year. A GED graduation ceremony was held on Sunday, Sept. 18, on the main campus. Bob Hemmings, Dean of Evening Studies, was guest speaker for the special event. Hemmings has provided guidance to many GED graduates who transition to college student from the GED program. His message was one of congratulations and admiration for the time and energy that graduates had invested in getting to this point in their lives. He emphasized the contributions of instructors and family members who had been advocates and a support system in the process. Hemmings has announced his retirement as of December 2011 and as speaker was honored for his role in helping students continue their educational pursuits.

Virginia A. Stammetti, Director of the Basic Skills/ABE/GED program recognized students for their accomplishments and acknowledged family members for their role in making this celebration a reality for each graduate. Shane Gillenwater, Valedictorian of the graduating class, shared his thoughts on this special accomplishment. Susan Pendergraft, Vice President for Administrative Services, gave the invocation and Dr. George Sappenfield, Vice President of Corporate and Continuing Education, presented GED scholarships to the top twelve GED graduates. Dr. James Reeves, SCC Interim President presented diplomas to each graduate. Musical selections were presented by Terri Cockerham and Carrie Utt, vocalist and pianist respectively, both Surry Community College employees. Basic Skills instructors who had worked with students on an individual basis focusing on student success were on hand to congratulate students. Graduates and their families were honored with a lovely reception at the conclusion of the graduation ceremony.

Local 2010-11 GED graduates are:

Boonville: Zebulon Campbell, Robert Long, Tana Peters, Emily Pritchard

Elkin: Jordan Agha, Teresa Blackburn, Linda Childress, Bryan Conley, Jeremy Goad, Jennifer Hall, Bridget Hayes, Jacob Lankford, Morgan Love, Wesley Manning, Tina McManaway, Devin Mounce, Jeffrey Prewitt, Trent Simons, Heather Smithey, Travis Southard, Lula Walker, Dillon Pugh

Hamptonville: Paul Hayes Jr., Arzie Hodgson, Kelly Lee, Joseph Lowrance, Joshua Peterson, Sherry Shelton, Deborah Swaim, Aidan Watson

Jonesville: Shirley Burckhalter, Angela Sears, Michael Holbrook, Kevin Jordan, Rachel Shores, Antawain Stanley, Brian Wilmoth, Cindy Wood

Roaring River: Alexandria Cowan

Ronda: Roger Hutchins, Timothy Russell

Sparta: Elenda Hernandez

State Road: Chance Bowen, Timothy Cox, David Jarvis, Tamela McGee, Russell Paradis, John Reed, Leah York

Thurmond: Angela Lowe, Stephanie Martin, Davia Swaim

Traphill: Amy Bowen, Jody Lee, David Martin

Yadkinville: Isabella Perez, Corey Adair, Justin Bosley, Paula Leandro Carbajal, Shelley Childress, Kara Dunn, Tara Estes, Judy Garcia, Shane Gillenwater, Melanie Hubbard, Kim Hutchens, Katherine Martin, Casey McCormick, Brandon Messer, Raymond Pruden, Betty Pruden, David Reece, Fructuoso Sixtos, Coty Strickland, Joshua Taylor, Kristin Winters, Elaina Holcomb

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Elkin Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com