Last updated: June 01. 2013 12:21PM - 185 Views
Matthew Gorry
Sports Writer

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

RONDA - The East Wilkes boys swept the Mountain Valley Conference top awards after capturing the conference crown earlier this season.

Abram Logan raced to Runner of the Year honors, while Anita Tharpe earned the Coach of the Year nod after guiding the Cardinals to a fourth-place finish at the 1A Cross Country State Championships.

Logan, who finished fifth at the state meet, was one of five Cards to make the all-conference team, joined by Philip Hemric, Will Jolly, Zach Prevette and Luke Stokes.

Freshman state qualifier Jacob Parker headlined Elkin’s nominees, earning all-MVAC honors in his first season. Said Javier was named an honorable mention.

Josh Faircloth and Ben Wall were named to the all-conference team for Forbush.

The complete all-conference and honorable mention lists are below:


Daniel Angarita (West Wilkes)

Josh Englebert (West Wilkes)

Josh Faircloth (Forbush)

Josh Hall (West Wilkes)

Philip Hemric (East Wilkes)

Rylan Hincher (North Wilkes)

Will Jolly (East Wilkes)

Abram Logan (East Wilkes)

Nic Nunn (Wilkes Central)

Jacob Parker (Elkin)

Zach Prevette (East Wilkes)

Colby Shell (West Wilkes)

Luke Stokes (East Wilkes)

Andrew Tedder (Ashe County)

Ben Wall (Forbush)

Honorable Mention

Gareth Berry (Ashe County)

Josh Gowan (Wilkes Central)

Said Javier (Elkin)

Jonathan Nicholas (Ashe County)

Connor Pate (West Wilkes)

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Elkin Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com